USGA Releases Official Statement Following Sam Burns’ Controversial Ruling at U.S. Open

The United States Golf Association (USGA) has issued an official statement in the wake of a controversial ruling that many believe cost American golfer Sam Burns a legitimate shot at winning his first major title at this year’s U.S. Open.

The incident, which unfolded during the back nine on Sunday at Pinehurst No. 2, centered on a temporary water hazard ruling—often referred to as a “temporary wateryam” on social media—that left fans, commentators, and players alike stunned.

Burns found his ball in a soggy patch of rough near the 15th green, an area that had been declared a temporary water accumulation zone by tournament officials due to unexpected overnight storms. However, in a surprising turn, the rules official on site denied Burns relief, citing that the area “did not meet the criteria for casual water under Rule 16.1.” The ruling forced Burns to play the ball as it lay, resulting in a double bogey that dropped him from a tie for the lead to two shots back—ultimately ending his title hopes.

Today, the USGA addressed the controversy in a carefully worded statement:

**“The USGA acknowledges the concerns raised regarding the ruling on the 15th hole during Sunday’s final round of the U.S. Open involving Sam Burns. While we maintain that our on-site official made a decision based on the conditions observed in the moment, we understand that the area in question had been impacted by temporary water accumulation and should have been evaluated more comprehensively.

We are conducting a full review of the incident to determine whether procedural adjustments are needed in how temporary conditions are assessed during active play. Sam Burns conducted himself with professionalism and grace throughout the championship, and we regret any role the ruling may have played in affecting competitive outcomes.”**

The statement has done little to quell the frustration of golf fans, many of whom took to social media to express outrage. The hashtag #JusticeForBurns trended on X (formerly Twitter) throughout Sunday evening.

PGA Tour players, including Max Homa and Justin Thomas, also chimed in, with Thomas tweeting, “Hard to swallow that ruling. Sam deserved better—he was right there all week.”

Burns himself has not publicly criticized the ruling but did allude to the incident in his post-round interview: “I don’t want to say too much about it right now. I’ll let the officials do their job. I just wish the situation had been handled differently.”

As the golf world moves on from a dramatic and bittersweet finish at Pinehurst, this latest USGA controversy reignites long-standing debates about the consistency of rules enforcement and the need for more flexible interpretation in extraordinary course conditions.

For Sam Burns, it may be another missed chance at major glory—but for the USGA, it’s a reminder that even the smallest rulings can have major consequences.