Sam Burns’ Immediate Reaction to ‘Ridiculous’ Rules Decision During Final Round of U.S. Open

Pinehurst, NC – June 16, 2025

Sam Burns didn’t hold back his emotions during the final round of the 2025 U.S. Open, visibly frustrated by what he described as a “ridiculous” rules decision that threatened to derail his momentum at a crucial stage of the championship.

The controversy unfolded on the par-3 15th hole at Pinehurst No. 2, where Burns’ tee shot landed just off the green, resting near a sprinkler head embedded in the closely mown area. Seeking relief under the rules governing obstructions, Burns called for an official—but the ruling didn’t go the way he expected.

The Ruling That Sparked Backlash

Despite the ball being near the sprinkler head, Burns was denied free relief. Officials determined that the lie did not interfere enough with his stance or intended swing path to warrant a drop—forcing Burns to play it as it lay. With a delicate chip needed and the pressure mounting, the situation rattled Burns.

Caught by microphones muttering his disapproval, Burns was heard saying:

“That’s ridiculous. How is that not relief? Unreal.”

His visible frustration lingered for the next few holes, with fans and commentators noting a shift in his focus after the incident. While Burns ultimately finished his round respectably, the questionable ruling may have cost him a potential top-10 finish.

Fans and Players React

Social media was quick to rally behind Burns, with many fans and even a few fellow professionals calling the ruling “inconsistent” with how similar cases had been handled earlier in the week.

One post read:

“If that’s not relief, what are we even doing? Burns got robbed.”

Another PGA Tour pro, speaking anonymously to GolfMagic, reportedly said:

“That call was harsh. I’ve seen drops given for less this week.”

A Familiar Debate

Rules disputes are nothing new in major championships, but Burns’ reaction reignited the conversation around interpretation vs. consistency in high-stakes settings. While the USGA maintains that rulings are made with precision and fairness, the backlash suggests that players and fans still crave more transparency and clarity.

Final Thoughts

Despite the setback, Sam Burns held his head high and finished the tournament with poise. While the ruling won’t be overturned, his immediate and candid reaction gave fans an authentic glimpse into the emotional rollercoaster of major championship golf.